A Visit from Troop 10816

Hi there,
If you are a regular volunteer at Sebastian House, you already know who I am. But to everyone else – my name’s Dusty.

dusty-sniffing

I’m a regular here at Our Companions, the Sanctuary has been my home for a couple years now. I tend to make friends with the younger kittens, so much so that my nickname has become Uncle Dusty. That’s why I was SO happy when I got a visit from Girl Scouts Brownie Troop 10816! These young ladies came to the Sanctuary to earn their Pets badge.

Personally, I can’t think of a better place to do so. They started off at my place, Sebastian House. I gave them a quick tour of the living room, where they got to learn all about how to take care of pets. An Our Companions volunteer, Marielle, led the lesson. The girls took turns pulling objects out of a bag and explaining why each object was needed to take care of pets. Things like hamster balls, leashes, litter scoops…though I’d have to say, my favorite was the treats! It was cool getting to learn about all the different things you need to take care of your pets. Those girls were really smart! Marielle also taught them how to interact with dogs. You know, people like to say cats and dogs are super different. But I learned that we both like our space, and it’s only okay to approach us after getting an okay from their family.

Afterward, they headed over to Chelsea House to meet Aspen. The girls got to take turns to practice what they learned in the lesson. Aspen has actually been adopted since then – maybe these young ladies have the magic touch!

aspen-111116c
As the day wound down, they came back to Sebastian House for a tour of the whole building. They got to meet some more of my friends, and see how we take care of the animals every day.

Let me tell you – these girls were great. They even collected a bunch of donations to help take care of us. So I wanted to say, thank you Troop 10816! You all certainly earned your Pets badge. I just have one question.

img_3356

Can cats join the Girl Scouts?

img_3354

 

Leave a Reply

